St. Barbara's Philoptochos Society

The Benevolent works of Philoptochos are a continuation of Christ's ministry on earth. We have an opportunity through our participation in the charitable work of Philoptochos to return to God a portion of the time, talents, and resources with which he has gifted us.

Established in 1931 by late Ecumenical Patriarch Athenagoras I and greatly expanded by His Eminence Archbishop Iakovos, Philoptochos Societies are an important part of Greek Orthodox parishes everywhere. Philoptochos functions at the local, diocesan, national, and international level. The largest organization of Greek Orthodox women and the second largest ladies philanthropic society in the United States, Philoptochos supports many charities while spiritually enhancing its members through their participation in its work.

Every woman in Greek Orthodox parish churches is entitled to become a member. Philoptochos needs women who are willing to commit some amount of time, no matter how small, to work which directly or indirectly, will help ease the suffering of fellow men and women, and especially children, in some way.

The challenge Philoptochos faces today is to meet the need for new members with innovative ideas and vitality to continue the important charitable work begun by their mothers and grandmothers. The work they would do may not be the same, but the good they would provide would be: continuing Christ's ministry on earth by helping the physically and spiritually infirm.

Please become a member of Philoptochos and place your name among those who support Christ's work and love for men and women here on earth.

Newly Elected Philoptochos 2019-2021 Officers

President - Vicki Konstandakis

1st Vice President - Elaine Sgouros

2nd Vice President - Kay Kriketos

Recording Secretary - Mary-Anne Schubert

Corresponding Secretary - Katina Ioakimidis

Treasurer - Kathy VanKuilenburg

Asst Treasurer - Vicky Katis

Advisor - Crystal Iakovou 


Philoptochos Board Members

Angela Arvanitis, Despina Bouboulis, Eleni Georgacopoulos,

Maria Karras, Eleni Pesiridis, Toula Skourides, Despina Speros,

Andrea Stanitsas, and Aristea Tsitsopoulos